Main Menu

Councillor new list

Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud on Thursday has approved a new list of councillors for 24lical councils in Sarawak.

Batu Kitang assemblyman Lo Khere Chiang is confirmed as Chairman of Padawan Municipal Council (MPP), following a decision made during a state cabinet meeting on July 11

Local Government and Housing Minister Datuk Dr Sim Kui Hian, there are 765 councillors in the list, including 318 new faces.

Those in the list of councillors have been informed to accept their appointments before July 31. They must let go of any other government appointments before accepting their post as councillors. The final list of councillors will be out on July 31.

Dr Sim said those who accepted their appointments must attend a workshop in Kuching before signing their appointment letters.

The Sarawak cabinet approved the list of councillors for all 24 local councils, which does not include any representative from Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB).

The allocation of councillors is now divided among the four component parties of Sarawak’s ruling coalition Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), namely Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

Dr. Sim showing the list of councillors. 

Dr. Sim showing the list of councillors.

Comments are Closed